14 Feb 2019

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (New Bedford, MA/USA—February 14, 2019) The Inkwell Awards, the only non-profit organization devoted to public education and promotion of the art of comic book inking, invites everyone to VOTE for the industry’s best of the year. The official public ballot will be available on the Inkwells’ homepage from February 15 through March 1.

Voting is open to fans and professionals alike. The five categories are “Favorite Inker,” “Most Adaptable,” “Props” (inkers deserving more attention), the “S.P.A.M.I.” (Small Press And Mainstream/Independent) and “All-In-One” for pencilers who ink their own work. The ballot covers all printed American comic books cover-dated 2018.

“This is the first ballot with our revamped nomination procedure where inkers could submit their work,” said Bob Almond, founder, and director of The Inkwell Awards. “It made a huge difference. Every category had two to four names that were chosen from artist submissions.”

As a courtesy, also listed on the ballot are the nominees for two lifetime achievement honors. The first is the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame (“HoF”) award for an outstanding inking career of 25 or more years in American comics, whose winners are chosen by an internal committee (to avoid a “popularity contest” where recent names have more influence than past masters). Two nominees are awarded each year.

The other is the Stacey Aragon Special Recognition Award (SASRA), which differs from the HoF due to the artist being out of the “public eye,” having limited name-recognition due to semi- or full retirement or death, limited-yet-influential output, social barriers such as gender/race, or other factors that might otherwise limit their consideration for the traditional HoF award. It was posthumously named in honor of the first female member of the Inkwells who, according to Almond, “was the heart and soul of our organization.”

He also added, “Too many inkers go unnoticed or are glossed over by some awards events. Ours caters specifically to ink artists and allows them to be recognized and appreciated for their best work. We encourage all who appreciate great artwork to participate and share on social media; the more voters, the better.”

The winners will be announced at the live awards ceremony at The Great Philadelphia Comic Con! in Oaks, PA the weekend of April 12-14.





for 2018 cover-dated, interior, printed American comic-book material

(in alphabetical order).

Favorite Inker: Favorite ink artist over the pencil work of another artist. 

(Cannot also be nominated for the “Props” award.)

A) Jay Leisten: Suicide Squad (DC); Astonishing X-Men, Avengers, Incredible Hulk, Return of Wolverine, Spider-Geddon, Venom Inc.: Omega (Marvel)

B) Mark Morales: Justice League (DC); Avengers (Marvel)

C) Joe Prado: Superman (DC)

D) Trevor Scott: Damage (DC)

E) Dexter Vines: The Wild Storm: Michael Cray (DC/Wildstorm)

F) Walden Wong: Astonishing X-Men, Captain America Annual, Incredible Hulk, Marvel Two-In-One, Venom (Marvel)

Most-Adaptable Award:  

Artist showing exceptional ink style versatility over other pencil artists.

A) Marc Deering: Star Wars: Doctor Aphra, The Black Order, Black Panther, Legion (Marvel)

B) Jay Leisten: Suicide Squad (DC); Astonishing X-Men, Avengers, Incredible Hulk, Return of Wolverine, Spider-Geddon, Venom Inc.: Omega (Marvel)

C) Norm Rapmund: Action Comics, Batgirl, Batman Beyond, Deathstroke, Mera, Teen Titans, Titans (DC)

D) Cam Smith: Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps, Nightwing (DC); Amazing Spider-Man, Hunt For Wolverine: Claws of a Killer, X-Men Gold (Marvel)

E) Walden Wong: Justice League (DC); Astonishing X-Men, Black Panther, Captain America Annual, Incredible Hulk, Marvel Two-In-One, Venom (Marvel)

Props Award: Ink artist deserving of more attention for their work over other pencil artists. (Those nominated for, or past winners of, “Favorite Inker” are ineligible.) 

A) Elisabetta D’Amico: G.I. Joe (IDW); Avengers, Fantastic Four, Spider-Men II (Marvel)

B) Eber Ferreira: Detective Comics, Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps  (DC)

C) Ruy Jose: Avengers, Immortal Hulk (Marvel)

D) Daniel Henriques: Aquaman, Hawkman, Justice League, Supergirl (DC)

E) Jordi Tarragona: Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps (DC)

F) Le Beau Underwood: Noble, Superb (Lion Forge); Immortal Hulk (Marvel)

The S.P.A.M.I: Favorite Small Press And Mainstream/Independent ink work over another pencil artist (non-Marvel/DC work).

A) Stefano Guadiano: Walking Dead (Image)

B) Andrew Pepoy: The Simpsons (Bongo Comics); Yellow Submarine (Titan Books)

C) Brian Albert Thies: X-O Manowar: Barbarians (Valiant)

D) Le Beau Underwood: Noble, Superb (Lion Forge) 

E) Ryan Winn: Bloodshot: Rising Spirit, Ninja-K (Valiant)

All-in-One Award: Favorite artist known for inking his/her own pencil work.

A) Joelle Jones: Batman, Catwoman (DC) 

B) Mike Perkins: Green Lantern (DC)

C) Andrew Pepoy: Dinosaucers (Lion Forge)

D) Liam Sharp: Brave And The Bold, Green Lanterns (DC)

E) Lee Weeks: Batman, Batman Annual (DC)