25 Jul 2023

(FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: New Bedford, MA/USA-July 24, 2023) On July 20th on Inkwell Awards founder & director Bob Almond’s facebook feed he announced that the spring 2023 educational and fundraising event the Joe Sinnott Legacy Inking Challenge featuring Alex Saviuk had some as of yet unsold pages of inks over blueline pencil original art and that they’d be available for sale at a discount at the Terrificon show July 28-30 at tables R1-R2 in artists alley. “There were over 50 pieces done up over the spring by vet mainstream professionals, indie/small press pros and a few non-pros learning how to ink by experience that were auctioned off on eBay but after relisting the remainder pages we were still left with 17 and now 14 pages. So I thought a different venue might help with no shipping or bidding involved, first come first serve. Plus Alex will be in attendance in case anyone wants to take a pic with him and the page purchased.” The 14 pages are inked by Rusty Gilligan, Marc Rubino, Jeff Austin, Guy Dorian Sr., Edward Murr, Victor Moya, Criss Madd, J.E. Lozano, Mark Pennington, Luis Rivera, Matt Santorelli, Bob Smith, Mark Stegbauer and Larry Welch. Prices range from only $25 to up to $45 and anyone interested to buy but cannot attend can email Bob at dmralmond@gmail.com If any pages are remaining post-show they will be available at the same prices but with shipping added.

Joe Sinnott was featured in eight Inking Challenge events named after him until he retired some months before his passing. In 2021, frequent Marvel art collaborator of Joe’s, Ron Frenz, was featured in the Joe Sinnott Tribute Inking Challenge with Thor a year after his death in tribute.

Then Alex Saviuk, whom Joe inked for years on the Amazing Spider-man Sunday comic strip series, agreed to be featured for the first Legacy Challenge. The artists for this event are decided by Bob and Joe’s son Mark Sinnott annually. It is a bit different from the spin-off event, the Sinnott Inking Challenge Spotlight.

The Inkwell Awards is the only official 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to promote and educate regarding the art form of comic-book inking, as well as annually recognize the best ink artists and their work. Established in 2008, the Inkwells are overseen by a volunteer committee of industry professionals and assisted by various professional ambassadors and contributors. They sponsor the Dave Simons Inkwell Memorial Scholarship Fund for the Kubert School and host the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award. This year they celebrate their 15th anniversary.