Inkwell Awards News


Whether established pro or budding amateur, you have questions. What type of tools are best to use? Where do I get them at a decent price? How do I start? Got any tips? Good news: we have answers–plus tutorials, pro interviews, insights and articles. Educate yourself with these handy resources.

How It Started

In January 2008 Bob Almond began an on-line discussion on the Inkwell Yahoo Group about the overall lack of recognition and problems with respect toward inkers. During these discussions, the idea of an award was mooted to raise awareness of the craft of inking in the public eye.

Bob wrote an article on the subject for his ‘Inkblots’ column in Sketch Magazine in 2007, edited by Bill Nichols.


Since the organization was formed in 2008, the roster of Inkwell Ambassadors has included Adam Hughes, Mark Brooks, Sal Velluto, Cully Hamner, Eric Basuldua, Phil Jimenez, Jim Shooter, Brian Pulido, Jim Starlin and Laura Martin along with the late Joe Kubert and Rich Buckler.

The more-involved Special Ambassadors include Joe Sinnott, J. David Spurlock, Mike McKone, Clifford Meth and Aldrin Aw, aka “Buzz.”


What ultimately led to the formation of The Inkwell Awards in 2008 in his column which subsequently sprouted into what you see here today.

Inkwell Awards offers much thanks to founding core committee members SKETCH editor Bill Nichols, Tim Townsend, Jimmy Tournas, and Daniel Best, the invaluable support of Adam Hughes and Mike Marts, as well as a legion of contributors and ink artists Bob is proud to know and associate with.

The Inkwell Awards

The Inkwell Awards is the only official 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to promote and educate regarding the art form of comic-book inking, as well as annually recognize the best ink artists and their work. Established in 2008, the Inkwells are overseen by a volunteer committee of industry professionals and assisted by various professional ambassadors and contributors.

They sponsor the Dave Simons Inkwell Memorial Scholarship Fund for the Kubert School and host the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award.

The History of the Inkwell Awards

The awards concept was created by Founder and Director Bob Almond in one of his “Inkblots” columns written for Sketch Magazine #35 in 2007, which didn’t see print until 2008 after the group formation. The awards were partially named after an old Yahoo! group whose members include many in the inking community, and after Almond’s personal website…

More On The Inkwell Awards

Award Recipients

Nominees in five different inking categories are chosen each year by a special volunteer nomination committee (which changes from year to year). Once nominations are tallied, voting is open to the public—fans and professionals alike—online via the non-profit’s website. Winners are announced during the first quarter of the year and awards are presented at an annual live show in the spring during a host convention (the current one being The Great Philadelphia Comic Con! in Pennsylvania). Here on the site, winners’ names for each category are posted, going back to the first awards in 2008…

Sinnott Hall of Fame

The Inkwell Awards has two annual lifetime achievement honors (The Joe Sinnott Hall Of Fame and the Stacey Aragon Special Recognition Award, or SASRA) which are nominated and chosen by an internal committee. The Hall Of Fame is awarded for an inking career in American comic books of outstanding accomplishment (25-years minimum). This award takes its name from a living legend (and one of the nicest guys in the business). Though most famous as Jack Kirby’s long-time inker on Marvel’s original Fantastic Four title, Joe Sinnott is much more to many professionals and fans alike…

How You Can Support Inkers And Ink Art

Simons Scholarship

Every year, the Inkwells donate funds to help a worthy, talented student of the exclusive Kubert School, in honor of the late, great Dave Simons. After studying with the legendary John Buscema, Dave went on to ink more legends over the years at Marvel and other publishers—including John’s brother Sal Buscema, Gene Colan and Mike Mignola. After Dave’s illness and passing, the Inkwell Awards established a scholarship in his name as an honor to their friend, supporter and core committee member. But there’s much more to the story (and Dave’s unique career)…

Ms. Inkwell

The Inkwell Awards’ sophisticated spokesmodel is not your average comic-book “babe,” thanks to her creators, portraitists and the many wonderful women who have portrayed her over the years (and continue to bring her to life at events). The Inkwells maintain a gallery of photos and artwork of their flagship character on the site. Created by Bob Almond and a few other talented artists as a reaction to the long-time (and arguably sexist) comic-book convention practice of having a scantily-clad attractive female at one’s booth to attract lonely male comic fans, Ms. Inkwell’s origin story is as complex and unique as her character…

Inkwell Awards Shop

Got a question? Want to help?

Follow us today