Voting for the third annual Inkwell Awards was conducted via online balloting from August 15th through September 15th, 2010. Subsequent ballots from the same IP address were omitted from the talleys. Thank you for the hundreds of e-mails of support and the many votes you placed. The Inkwell Award Committee would like to formally extend congratulations to all the winners and runners up.


Mark Morales

Inks over the pencil work of another artist from ’09 cover-dated comic book material

I’m thrilled to win this years Inkwell Award! All of the nominees are very talented and very deserving of it, too. I’d like to thank all the great pencillers i’ve had a chance to work with the last year, Olivier Coipel, Jim Cheung, Adam Kubert and Marko Djurdevic, my editors for hooking me up with them, and my fiancee for putting up with the long hours of me working.

— Mark Morales

Winner (41% of All Votes): Mark Morales (Thor, Mighty Avengers, Dark Reign: The List)
Other Nominees: Jon Sibal (Supergirl, Dark Avengers/X-Men: Utopia, Runner-Up)
Christian Alamy (Green Lantern, Final Crisis) Oclair Albert (Blackest Night)


Scott Hanna

Showing exceptional ink style versatility over pencil artists in ’09 cover-dated comic book material

I always told people that if I did my job properly, I would never get any awards as I try to enhance and show off the penciller’s style and not my own. If the penciller looks good, I did my job properly without need of drawing attention to myself. The Inkwell Awards, however, managed to create an award category which recognizes the same goal that I strive for with the most-adaptable category. Therefore, it is with much appreciation and thanks that I receive this year’s Inkwell Award!

–Scott Hanna

Winner (42% of All Votes): Scott Hanna (Amazing Spider-Man)
Other Nominees: Dan Parsons (Star Wars: Legacy, Star Wars: Clone Wars), Runner-Up
Victor Olazaba (Avengers: The Initiative, Guardians of the Galaxy)
Andy Owens (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Trinity, Batman Confidential)


Dan Parsons

Favorite Small Press And Mainstream-Independent ’09 cover-dated comic book ink work over another pencil artist (Non-Marvel or DC work)

Winner (39% of All Votes) Dan Parsons (Star Wars: Legacy, Star Wars: Clone Wars)
Other Nominees: Cliff Rathburn (Invincible, Walking Dead), Runner-Up
Todd McFarlane (Haunt), Andy Owens (Buffy the Vampire Slayer)


Amanda Conner

Favourite artist known for almost-exclusively inking his/her own comic book pencil work and rarely the work of others in ’09

Winner (31% of All Votes): Amanda Conner (Power Girl)
Other Nominees: J.H. Williams (Detective Comics), Runner-Up
Peter Krause (Irredeemable), Tim Vigil (Frank Frazetta’s Dark Kingdom)


Jonathan Glapion

Inker deserving of more attention for their work over pencilers from ’09 cover-dated comic book material

Winner (31% of All Votes): Jonathan Glapion (Batman & Robin, Green Lantern)
Other Nominees: Jackson “Butch” Guice (Captain America: Cap Reborn), Runner-Up
Christian Alamy (Green Lantern, Final Crisis) Rebecca Buchman (Green Lantern Corps)


Klaus Janson

Al Williamson

A hall of fame designation for an inking career of outstanding accomplishment (lifetime achievement, 15-years minimum)

I want to express my sincere appreciation and congratulations to Klaus Janson and to Al Williamson’s wife Cori for what those two greats have succeeded in accomplishing by their masterful inking. To be chosen for the Hall Of Fame Award is in my mind the highest honor one can obtain in our profession. To be chosen over such a distinguished group of fellow professionals is an outstanding achievement.

— Joe Sinnott

I am very touched and happy to hear about this award.  It is such an honor and I thank you.  I will place it in his studio on his drawing table….. It is very touching that Al is being remembered.

— Cori Williamson, on behalf of Al Williamson

I look forward to receiving it through the mail and it hasn’t diminished any of the pride I feel.  Honestly, the only thing I’ve ever wanted to do since I was a kid was to tell stories in this medium.  Whether I’m writing, penciling, inking or coloring, it’s a privilege to be doing what I do for a living.  To be recognized by such a fine organization as Inkwell, which is doing such a great job of keeping the inking artform in the public eye, is a great source of pride to me.  I’ve never thought that inking was “less” than any other aspect of comics storytelling and I am very proud to have won your Hall of Fame Award.  Trust me when I tell you: I’m just as ambitious as I was when I was a kid, and I have every intention of doing better and better work. Thanks so much!

— Kaus Janson

Other Nominees: Murphy Anderson, Dick Ayers, Kevin Nowlan, Wally Wood