04 Sep 2011

After a crazy busy summer it’s that time of year again to kick off the 2012 and 5th season of The Inkwell Awards, and more specifically with fundraising actions!  New committee member Michael Kellar has taken on the duty of auctioneer and launched our fall auction line-up on our eBay page as of 8/29 with exciting items from Darryl Banks&Romeo Tanghal (see image), Andy Smith, Mark Brooks, Bob Layton, Eric Basuldua and David Mack like published original art, new canson art, prints, and sketchcover art on blank cover variants!  These auctions will be posted on average overy other week so please bookmark this link above and check them out every chance you can for awesome deals!

10 Jun 2011

With an exciting turnout in voting from April 1-30, The Inkwell Awards are now able to release for their fourth year the ballot results from the six categories targeting the exceptional 2010 work of ink artists. Scott Hanna took the winning slot for Favorite Inker this year for his work on Marvel titles Hulk and Avengers: Prime, followed by Runner-up Wade Von Grawbadger, 2009’s winner in this category.


27 May 2011

With the 2011 Heroes Comic Con (http://www.heroesonline.com/heroescon/) only about two weeks away, The Inkwell Awards (http://inkwellawards.com) have more details to share about their final 2011 Inkwell tour stop and the scheduled ceremony to take place that weekend of June 3-5.

 “While this is our fourth annual awards culmination, it’s our first live ceremony, so we want to make it special”, shared Bob Almond, the non-profit organization’s founder and director.  “Much of our inking advocacy will be at the show and for the ceremony, which will take place Saturday afternoon at the Charlotte Convention Center at a room and time slot to be announced.  We have some notable creators who are graciously involved with the proceedings like artist Dan Panosian who will act as Keynote Speaker.  Artist and former Inkwell committee member Tim Townsend will act as our Presenter. Tim will announce the results from the on-line April public ballot.  There was a phenomenal response this year at the ballot box and there are some real surprises from our tally of winners.  I’ll be hosting the ceremony.   Acting as hostess will be our spokeswoman, Ms. Inkwell, who will be portrayed at this venue by model Kathy Taylor.  We’d hoped to have Joe Sinnott attend the event as our Guest of Honor, but that wasn’t ultimately possible. We hope Joe can attend in this capacity in 2012.”


08 May 2011

The Inkwell Awards ballot booth is now closed and the results will be announced live at the 2011 Heroes Con on Saturday afternoon on June 4 and subsequently on-line following the ceremony. Thanks for taking the time to vote and all of your valued support! Watch this space for further details…

31 Mar 2011

All the fun & thrills of the old one, but new and improved!  It’s still a work in progress because we have a lot of essential inky resources to carry over but perfection can’t be rushed!  Many thanks to Kris Fenol and Jason Gouger!